Looking for some help, Advice!
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Looking for some help, Advice!

Default Looking for some help, Advice!

I have a 9' 8/9 wt. St. Croix with a 8/9 scientific angler reel. Yesturday I went to tackle direct to buy some sinking line. I ended up with a line that has a sink rate of 1.7-2.0. I am a beginner and want to fish from my boat around cold spring inlet. I have been catching bass and blues at the jetty on my baitcaster with bombers. My question is did I buy the correct line for fishing from my boat at the jetty and what kind of flies should I be using? I have some poppers, clousers, and deceivers mostly in chartruese or white/chartruese. Chartruese is my first color choice around here. I have been practicing casting in the yard and I can cast 50-60 feet with a little accuracy. I have always watched people fly fish and thought i would like to be able to do it.

2. Remove Advertisements
    TheBassBarn.com
    Advertisements

It will work and you will catch, not the ideal choice. A 300 to 500 grain line will work better especially if it is windy, which seems like it is most of the time you want to fish. Plus if you want to get your fly down a bit deeper the heavier sinking line will get it down faster. This is important when there is a lot of current.

Most important would be an electric bow motor. You will find running your engine and trying to turn your wheel and shift your engine while trying to fly cast will gets old fast, plus you will not spook the fish.

Clousers and deceiver will work around the rocks and in the back .

That line should be good for working shallow water in the back bay. Again you will have the problem of the motor spooking fish. You will probably do better drifting the best you can. When fishing in 5 feet or less of water the motor running is not going to be good.
    Last edited by CapeMayRay; 07-18-2011 at 10:34 PM.