Trolling: I Can't Catch A Break... or a Fish
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree18Likes

Thread: Trolling: I Can't Catch A Break... or a Fish

Default Trolling: I Can't Catch A Break... or a Fish

I'm kinda getting close to my wit's end because I just don't understand what I'm doing wrong.

I'm new to the inshore/midshore trolling game. I did a couple trips this year and 1-2 last year as well. Every time, so far, I've trolled the East Lump/Middle Lump area and have run by the pots in the area there. Yesterday, I tried the Sea Isle Ridge and in toward Shutes Shoal. Every single time, I have never seen a sign of life on the days that I'm out. No bait. Not marking anything. No birds. No marine mammals... nothing. It's an absolute ghost town.

Yesterday, I left CM inlet around 5:45 and got to the South side of Sea Isle Ridge around 7:00. Based on some recommendations, we set a 5 rod spread with a Clark spoon on the left side, a naked Ballyhoo mid-distance back on the mid-left, a cedar plug center just past the prop wash, a squid chain on the mid-right (which we alternated with another spoon as well), and a Clark bird far back on the right. Everything seemed to have the appropriate action. Our speed was good. I don't think we had anything set wrong.

The biggest problem that I have is that I simply can't find anything alive in the ocean. It's not like we're going out to dead spots where there aren't any other boats. I'm always trolling around other boats fishing, but I never see anything and hear on the radio from everyone else in the area how dead it is (which is both a consolation because it least it is not just us but also frustrating as well), and these are always spots that I hear were "on fire" a day or two prior.