Chartplotter shopping at Edison boat show?
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Chartplotter shopping at Edison boat show?

Default Chartplotter shopping at Edison boat show?

Hello all...I am a newbie to the Barn, but an old salt on the beaches. I recently came into my first "good" boat last year...202 Hydrasport DC. I absolutely love it, however the fishfinder it came with is absolutely ridiculous to say the least. It is a humminbird 200DX but it might as well say Fisher Price on it. I have never needed one walking along our beaches but I am in the market for one now. I am going to the Edison boat show this weekend with a buddy, and I thought I would look at some of their electronics while there.
    Anybody think that it's a smart move to buy something there? Also, any recommendations as to what to get? I have read a couple of threads on here about the Garmin 478s or 172s. I believe they are discontinued now, buy I still see them pop up on e-bay now and then. Any input would be welcomed as I am pretty much in the dark on this subject. My budget is about $600. Thanks if you guys respond and thanks for reading this long winded post.

2. Remove Advertisements
    TheBassBarn.com
    Advertisements

In my mind, and I think many others that I know/worked for, its always been:
    VHF=Icom
    GPS=Garmin
    Bottom Machine=Furuno, hands down. If you can afford it, or stretch yourself to get there, go color.

You'll get a million different answers, and Capt Steve will hop on here and tell you how geat RayMarine is (I think he's obligated to, at least from every other single post regarding electronics I've seen) but bottom line, you cant go wrong with a Furuno sounder.