BASS BARN banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
9,251 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
picking up a new to us 1988 chris craft seahawk 216, this saturday to use as our trailer boat. it is equiped with a 150hp evinrude

any one have information on the boat? i have no knowledge whatsoever, and am taking it site unseen, the boat is free. but is said to be turn key.

·
Registered
7,570 Posts
Had the '88 23 footer with a 200 Mariner...great boat...only complaint was the short, old style center console...comfy for seated driving...but too low for stand up protection.

Hull ran great but as I said...I had the 23...if fit and finish are the same and probably are..it was mid road or better than many of the 80's boats.

There are a few around of both models....hopefully someone with the 216 will respond....

·
Registered
9,251 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Was that the one on craigslist?
it is an ederly gentlemen who is moving to florida and does not want to sell the boat.

i have no idea on the actual condition but was told it is turn key and solid.

wont be putting much money into it as it will be used as a back up/trailer/cruising boat. so im not to concerned with the fit finish and cleanliness.

·
Registered
2,175 Posts
I have a 1985 I/O that I love, great ride and plenty of room. Mine needs a motor so I am looking for a mercruiser 488 to get it back in the water if anyone has one available

·
Registered
2,964 Posts
I've never owned one but looked into buying a walkaround version a few years back. The boat looked decent to me. But the one I looked at was in rougher shape than I wanted at the time.

There is one for sale on THT, that looks amazing. Imagine what your free boat could look like with a little TLC. The seller wants $15k and its only about an hour for me. I wish I had the cash because I'd go take a look at it.
http://www.thehulltruth.com/boats-s...-213-w-full-transom-dive-bracket-reduced.html

·
Registered
532 Posts