BASS BARN banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to boating and I have a 3 year old boy that I would love to take out with me as much as possible. Last season before I bought the boat I took him out on a half day fluke trip. We cought some throw backs and he seemed fine. I know things will be much diferent on my own boat. does anyone have any advice to lend?

·
Registered
31,457 Posts
Try to keep it short and interesting. Size of the fish doesn't matter, quantity does
Crabbing is another thing they love.

·
Registered
54 Posts
Taking the kids fishing is great. My three are 8,6,and 4 and the older two have been fishing with me for the last three years or so. A couple of key points, don't plan on fishing much yourself when with the little ones I take my poles to make me feel better but am usually too busy with the kids to pay attention to the my poles. Perch fishing in the early and late season is great. The best trip we've had so far was in Oct. of last year. Anchored in a nice quite little place and boated about 30 fish in a couple hours, the last post was right nothing worse for the little ones then the wait they want it NOW.
Have also found crabbing to be good for the kids., There is enough activitiy to keep them interested for a while, even if they're not getting any. Usually give each one a side of the stern and a couple of traps each.
Good luck this year and have fun!

·
Registered
1,881 Posts
My daughter goes with my wife and I all the time. She is 7 and likes it when the bite is on but when its not humm she lets you know. This year we got her a portable DVD player so she has something to do in the down time. But if your out in da Del Bay look for the Dirty Blond with mamma and the little blond putting a whippin on dad. This year she wants to peirce her first striped lip. After that god only knows what will happen to her...... You will probably see her on here once she peirces her first lip??? Good luck

·
Registered