BASS BARN banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
682 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to chunking for stripers and would appreciate a few tips on backbay chunking. Is it better to anchor up on some structure, or along a dropoff in the fall? Are areas closer to inlets generally better than say a river that empties into a backbay? Also, how many pounds of bunker should I bring? How often should I be chunking, etc?

·
Registered
2,484 Posts
WhiteBucket--

Although I don't chunk in the Back bays as much I would like I have done it several times with great success. This has been both in the Fall and Spring. Personally I like holes, Sod Banks, Creek opening more then structure and the like. I tend to be someone close to the inlet on many occasions but don't think it is a must. I would say a few spots have us about 1-2NM to an inlet. But again that might just be a coicedence. Now as far as how many pounds of bunker I would say use clam but that is just what I have had better luck with. I am sure bunker would also work but I would definitely use small small peices because of the size of the fish you would catch. The biggest I caught in the back was 39" and that was behind Cape May/Wildwood Crest area. That was 2 years ago and with clam. I was aboard the Partnership with Tommy's 2 oldest. But again I wouldn't totally dismiss bunker I would just lean more to the clam. Now if you decide to do both I would definitely keep them in seperate coolers and not chunk with both at the same time. I picked this up from Tommy who learned from the master, Capt Fred @ No Bones Bait and tackle. I am sure Fred will add some but this is the way I do it and like I said I have had good success. Hope this helps.

·
Registered
240 Posts
Check out CHUNKING posts from No Bones Bait & Tackle in Wildwood. He has all the knowledge. Email him !