BASS BARN banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We had some pretty bad storms go through our town tonight and it got me thinking. What would be the best thing to do if you got caught in a nasty fast moving severe thunderstorm in the middle of the delaware bay? I am new to boating in such a large body of water as the delaware. I have experience in the back bays of ocean city and occasionally out front. My question is what would be the best way to handle the situtition? Do you anchor up and hope for the best or do you put a lifevest on and try to navigate the storm? Just curious to your experiences and what you have done. I want to be prepared for everything (or at least try). Thanks for replies.

Anthony

·
Registered
6,457 Posts
first a vest don't work if you don't wear it, so yes a good ideal & i would rather ride at an idel or better into the seas,till it passes,don't try to nav back to port cause you may end up side to or stren to

·
Banned
6,106 Posts
We get hammered down here almost daily from mid May til September... If I see one comming I aim for the worst part. Usually it will peter out there where it was. Never aim between two cells. Thats what we call the sucker hole. They usually fill in and become the worst part.
Take note of which way they are moving , aim for that bad spot that should die down and give just enough power to head slightly off dead center into the wind. The off part of center you want to set course against which way it was heading before it hit you...

·
Registered
13,686 Posts