BASS BARN banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
792 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am trying to ready the 15' whaler for the season and I am running into some issues. The boat was not in the water last summer so has sat winterized in the garage for almost 2 years now. I am not very good with engines so please bear with me on this one.

1) The engine trim is not working. I recharged the battery and when I hit the trim (up or down) on both the throtle and engine I hear this soft noise coming from in the engine. I took off the cover and determined it to be coming from an electrical area on the starboard side. Would it be some kind of a fuse or rusty wiring???

2) Try to move the steering wheel and its all froze up. Is the steering cable shot or you think I should grease the shaft at base of engine. Will I have to replace the whole cable?

Sorry if these questions seem stupid. Just trying to figure out the issues at hand. Thanks in advance for any assistance.

-Brian

·
Registered
596 Posts
sound like a clicking noise could be relays not working or bad connections to them

·
Registered
1,289 Posts
On your steering issue, once that cable stiffens up to that point, I myself would just go ahead and replace it. This way you know you'll have no failure or loss of steering while underway. I've done quite a few.
On the trim and tilt issue, I do a process of elimination. I disconnect the tilt motor harness and apply power to the motor directly. If it works, you know the motor is operational. Capt.Matt

·
Registered
3,894 Posts
Brian,