BASS BARN banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
19,485 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It is gaining in popularity and it works if done right. Sold a bag to one guy who boated his first striper. He has been out for five trips and has one striper. He is still using that same bag of bellies.

I have been chunking clams for many years and there is one constant rule. Every day is different. One day the fish may already be there and the next they may not. Throw some bellies and bang, fish on. Next day throw for an hour before a hit.

If there is one mistake being made out there it's not using enough chum. Go out with the intent on using every bit of chum. Stretching a bag for multiple trips will usually mean multiple slow days. You can't throw to much. You won't over feed the stripers. You will just create a feeding frenzy with more fish in your slick.

Keep mixing water with the clams. Make and throw as much juice as possible. You want that scent flooding their senses. You want to be the clam boat. Throw juice and chunks. The stripers will eat their way to your hook.

·
Registered
1,707 Posts
Fred YOu are the best, My little Hermit Crabby :D :D :D

·
Registered
7,076 Posts
After years of dragging eels w/ little or no fish I changed to clamming this year. We have got over 50 fish in the last 4 or 5 trips. I usally buy 6 dozen clams and smash them and throw them overboard. Is this a good technique or is there a better way of doing this?

·
Registered
52,618 Posts
6:30AM ALL IS QUIET IN LARCHMOUNT AND THE PHONE RINGS AND ITS CAPT.NOAROO LETTING ME KNOW HE GOT LUCKEY LAST NIGHT.HIS TV WAS ON THE RIDHT CHANNEL
WHAT DID ALL YOU PERVERTS THINK I WAS GOING TO SAY.
HE SAID HE WAS OPEN AND HAD BAIT AND WAS GOING TO FILM A SHOW TODAY.HE ALSO SAID IT WAS GOOD IN THE BACK YESTERDAY.IT WAS NICE OF HIM TO CALL BUT AT 6:30 AM WHO GIVES A SH!T.

·
Registered
388 Posts