BASS BARN banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Need suggestions for the best depth finder setup for a Hobie Outback. What is the approx cost range and is it easy to install? Thank you for the advise!

·
Banned
12,837 Posts
I'm just starting the kayak ownership myself here, so I'm a novice with the finder idea. But, I do have this bit of info for you. The kayak I just purchased their doing the transducer inside the hull as a shoot thru. They make a kit to do this yourself, this way you don't have a exposed transducer to worry about on the exterior.

I purchased the lowrance x-4

·
Registered
1,349 Posts
Here's a few photo's of a few ways we have rigged them up to give you some ideas:

This is the Hobie Full Size FF install kit. Approx. cost is $100 for all the rigging materials. Super easy to install.

Here's a set up using a dry box for the battery. Cost is probably anywhere from $50-100 depending on brand, etc.

The costs do not include the price of the Sounder or RAM mount.
I'll try to find some photo's of Outbacks we've done and post them for ya.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the replies. I live in Williamstown, so I might stop up to Sportsman's Outpost today. Do you sell the depth finders and rigging at the store?

·
Registered
2,671 Posts
I've got a Wilderness Systems Tarpon 100. I put a Hummingbird 190C in it. Wired it to a cabelas battery in a dry box. The box is attached with velcro to the hull. I attached the transducer using plumbers putty to shoot thru the hull. It works great. Cheap, easy install.

·
Registered
191 Posts
depth finder help

from what i understand before you use the puddy to install the transducer, you have to sand down the hull where you plan to mount it. 2 questions.1 doesnt that weakin the hull? 2. doesnt that mess up the water temperature {inaccurate temp reading} ?:wave:

·
Registered
1,349 Posts