BASS BARN banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,558 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Reduced fines for saltwater fishing registry now law



Rose Shields
Surf fishing

The state Division of Fish and Wildlife is reminding saltwater anglers that they must register online before fishing off the Jersey Coast in 2012.






http://clk.atdmt.com/goiframe/251563030/368649933/direct/01

Posted: Monday, January 16, 2012 3:00 pm | Updated: 3:15 pm, Mon Jan 16, 2012.
Reduced fines for saltwater fishing registry now law By David Levinsky Staff writer Calkins Media, Inc. | 0 comments
TRENTON — It's a new year, and the state is reminding saltwater fishermen to register online before dropping a line off the New Jersey coast.
Those who don't will face a scaled-back fine of $25 for the first offense and $50 for each subsequent infraction under legislation recently signed into law by Gov. Chris Christie.
The owners of any charter boats who fail to comply will face a fine of $100 for the first offense and $200 for each subsequent one.
The revised penalties are significantly less than the $300 to $3,000 fines for noncompliance that were in place last spring, when the online registry was created to comply with a federal law requiring coastal states to record fishermen's names and addresses so they can be contacted and questioned about the numbers and types of fish they catch.
The data will be used to develop fishing regulations and catch limits.
The original fines were set by the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection because the legislation creating the registry failed to specify a fine, which was required by the federal government.
State Sen. Jeff Van Drew, D-1st of Dennis, who co-sponsored the legislation creating the registry as well as the bill revising the fines, said the reduced penalties were more reasonable.
"Imposing an initial fine of up to $3,000 for failing to register with this free database was completely unacceptable," Van Drew said in a statement. "This law scales back the penalties for noncompliance significantly so that anglers are not forced to fork over hundreds or possibly thousands of dollars simply because they were unaware of the new program."
A DEP spokesman previously said no fines for failing to register had been issued since the registry was launched in May.
The legislation Christie signed requires the DEP to launch a public awareness campaign to inform residents and tourists about the program.
Anglers can go to www.saltwaterregistry.nj.gov to register their name, date of birth, phone number, email and mailing addresses, and the last four digits of their Social Security number.
Fishermen under age 16 are exempt, as are those who fish solely from charter or party boats.
All others who fish off the Jersey coast must register, as must those who fish in freshwater rivers and streams where species such as striped bass, shad and salmon migrate.
Anglers who registered last year must do so again before fishing in 2012. Out-of-state residents must sign up before fishing unless they have registered in another state that provides a reciprocal exemption for New Jersey residents.
David Levinsky: 609-871-8154; email: dle[email protected];




http://www.phillyburbs.com/news/loc...le_ffd8aefc-beb9-5719-a995-d152e0dfd4dc.html#
http://www.phillyburbs.com/news/loc...le_ffd8aefc-beb9-5719-a995-d152e0dfd4dc.html#


























 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,442 Posts
Wow, with the state in a fiscal mess I am suprised that they reduced fines. Hey maybe they'll do it for motor vehicles on the road. Not!!
 
1 - 2 of 2 Posts
Top