BASS BARN banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,352 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
MDO Plywood

I need to replace the fuel tank cover on My wellcraft V-20. The current cover can not be re-cored or repaired. I have no fiberglass experience, so I'm thinking of using a piece of MDO Plywood coated with Polyesther Resin. I will be painting the deck after the repair. I heard that MDO Ply won't check, is this true? The panel will be 60" x 30" and supported from the under side. Does anyone know where I can buy a sheet of MDO ply in 3/4.

·
Registered
7,824 Posts
Save yourself some hassel and buy some 3/4 inch cellular pvc sheet. It comes in white, and is uv stable, easy to work with , won't rot, and doesn't need painting. Just fit the right size piece, caulk and screw it into place, and go fishing. :)

·
Registered
1,352 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The PVC sheet would work, but I think it would be too slippery when wet. I looked at Starboard and Seaboard and I just can't see paying $350 for a sheet of that stuff. I still need to paint my deck so I figure maybe I can get away cheaper with the MDO, just can't find it anywhere.

·
Registered
543 Posts
thought on price

I needed to replace my cabin bulkhead and I could have gone either the starboard route or the plywood and glass route like in your situation.I found a sheet of 3/4" starboard for $235 and felt like that was alot even though it was $100 cheaper than anyoneesle.So I looked into pricing it to do in plywood and glass and then paint it.

It breaks down like this:$100 4'x8'x3/4" marine plywood,$140 roll of 6oz. fiberglass mat,$75 WEST 105 epoxy,$35 WEST 206 Hardner,$50 Awlgrip primer,$70 Awlgrip paint.All said and done it comes to $470 just for the material needed to do the job right.This was all given to me from a very respected fiberglass guy;) ;)

I will be tring my hand and the same repare you are doing but not until next year because my funds cant allow it this year.