BASS BARN banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm just getting started saltwater flyfishing and I was wondering what flies to use in the surf. I have been plugging the beaches for a few years and thought I would try something new. I would appreciate any info.

·
Registered
481 Posts
If I look at my flybox and squint the main color I see is chartreuse. Not sure if that's me or the fish that like it but it seems to work...

·
Registered
7,853 Posts
I don't do that much from the beach but you can't loose with chartreuse. Yellow, Pink and Black flies seem to be good colors. If it looks like a baitfish you can't go wrong. Many guys do well with crab flies, but that is out of my league. Location of where you are fishing is more important. Look for a drop off or and area with a rip, something that give you an advantage and look for bait in the water.

·
Premium Member
5,198 Posts
What Brian said

·
Registered
549 Posts
blue/white deceivers
chartruese/white deceivers
half/half clouser deceiver
epoxy sandeel
sliders
peanut bunker pattern
big bunker pattern
thinly tied silver/ultra hair clousers
Siliclone mullet imitation
Poppers
Sea Ducer

Most of these flys have produced fish on any given occasion. There are plenty of sites that offer tying instructions. All in all you throw what you have confidence in. I usually plug most of the time but sometimes when it is nice and calm you just can't help your self to take the flyrod out. 9 times out of 10 the wind will die down toward dusk so you can fish both sides of a jetty with no problems.

P.S. Get yourself a stripping basket for your flyline, it will save countless times when your line gets wrapped around your feet or some rock.

Good luck

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks for the info. I see what you mean about the stripping basket. I had my line wrapped around my feet and caught up in my surf bag. Its my next purchase!

·
Registered
1,463 Posts