BASS BARN banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
okay i need some help i am very new to saltwater fly fishing and i dont know what flies to use... i went out this morning and fishe were everywere blitzing the surface yet i could noot get one, any advice and i cant cast to bulky of flies becuase i have a 7 weight
thx

·
Premium Member
5,198 Posts
TW Clousers & deceivers. Chart. & white. Maybe a popper if it makes you feel better.

·
Registered
1,295 Posts
You want to be able to offer a little bit of everything... Top, Mid, Bottom...

Get some poppers or floating flies. (I have a nice crab that stays no lower than 6" below the surface.)

Get some Mid flies... (Deceivers have only a small sink rate if they are tied with a lot of bucktail and no heavy epoxy/lead wrap... etc.)

Get some fast sink flies (Bottom flies). Good flies are the always popular clouser and the jiggy. Get a variety of sizes/weights. A clouser with small eyes will react/catch completely different from a clouser with big eyes. (Eye generally = weight in a clouser)

Finally, just have relax and practice casting. Your timing with a heavy clouser will be very different from your timing with a light, but bulky popper. Practice makes better (Not perfect)...

Also, don't worry about all those "Specialized" flies. you don't need every fly in the shop to catch a fish, the 5 i've mentioned will compose 75% or more of your fishing time...

Basic 5:
Popper
Floater/other (I think of "Non-popping" poppers)
Decievers
Clousers
Jiggy

Hope I helped, I'm still learning too.

Cya
GoNavy

·
Registered
7,853 Posts