BASS BARN banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
327 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I started to make up some striper rigs which made me think to ask this.

So what type of rig does everyone use for flounder? I am new to this so I want to see if the rig I am making is right.

I tie a size 4/0 kahle hook on to 18" of 20lb floro to a 3 way swivel. The second eye is tied to a 8-10lb 6-8" piece of mono with a swivel and weight, the third eye is tied to 30lb powerpro.
So, what do you think???? :confused:

·
Registered
9,251 Posts
Seaclusion said:

So what type of rig does everyone use for flounder? I am new to this so I want to see if the rig I am making is right.

I tie a size 4/0 kahle hook on to 18" of 20lb floro to a 3 way swivel. The second eye is tied to a 8-10lb 6-8" piece of mono with a swivel and weight, the third eye is tied to 30lb powerpro.
forget the 6-8" of mono to a weight, use a duo-lock snap directly to the 2nd eye of the 3 way, put your weight on that...its alot cleaner.

·
Registered
8,085 Posts
Growing up...my dad always made "hoochie" rigs...we called them that...they were 36" of leader....beads, spinner, 3" pink, red, green, white whatever color squid skirt, 2/0 wide gap gamukastu 3 way swivel w/snap for singer....I personally am attached to these ONLY because it reminds me of fishing with my dad...and they do work...

That being said...You can't beat a straight up white bucktail....simple as it gets...bucktail with a strip bait of choice works wonders:):) Keep bouncing it off the bottom. Can't beat it!

Good luck with your rigs though...I'm making some hoochies just to have them:)

·
Registered
7,076 Posts
This is my go to rig. Add a geen gulp, a strip bait with a spearing/minnow combo and its on. I have been using this rig for 2 years now and it has never failed me.

·
Registered
16,292 Posts