BASS BARN banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
421 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I would like to ask Santa for a flyrod for Christmas. I plug the shallows in the back bay from my small skiff and would like to try using a flyrod next season. I have some experience flyfishing, but it is all freshwater trout fishing. What weight rod would be used for targeting stripers in our area? When I plug I normally in less that 5' of water. What type of flyline is used (floating?,weight forward?grain?). I would prefer a travel rod so I could take it on a trip if I get the chance to fish while out of town. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Tight Lines & Safe Returns,
Saltshaker

·
Registered
7,856 Posts
Saltshaker, I like 8 to 9wt rods. I fish mostly shallow water and use floating and intermediate line. Anything heavier and you are dragging bottom. Like clear tip, or light gray for the intermediate. Have one of those lines that glow at night and like that too.

When fishing the inlet or beach it it intermediate, 300, 450 and 750 wt lines. 750 wt is like casting a hose but it does get down.

·
Registered
21,273 Posts
They now have a 6 piece

TFO 08 90 4 P 8 Wt. 9'-0" 4 Pc. 4.4 Ounces IM6 Graphite² $149.95
TFO 08 90 6 P 8 Wt. 9'-0" 6 Pc. 5.2 Ounces IM6 Graphite²? $199.95
TFO 08 96 4 P 8 Wt. 9'-6" 4 Pc. 4.8 Ounces IM6 Graphite² $149.95
TFO 08 10 4 P 8 Wt. 10'-0" 4 Pc. 5.4 Ounces IM6 Graphite² $184.95
TFO 09 90 4 P 9 Wt. 9'-0" 4 Pc. 4.5 Ounces IM6 Graphite² $149.95
TFO 09 10 4 P 9 Wt. 10'-0" 4 Pc. 5.6 Ounces IM6 Graphite² $184.95
TFO 10 90 4 P 10 Wt. 9'-0" 4 Pc. 4.6 Ounces IM6 Graphite² $149.95

·
Registered
5,585 Posts
A 4-pc is plenty small enough for travel. It breaks down into about 2ft pieces and can fit inside a standard suitcase. I don't know if I'd want to mess around with a 6-pc rod, especially in the salt!