BASS BARN banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
319 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking to get a chartplotter and I would like to hear some opinions on what brands and models I should look at. It is for an 18ft Mckee craft so I don't need anything big. I fish mostly in the chesapeake and would like to get something for less than $1,000 with maps. Let me know what you think- thanks.

·
Registered
25,494 Posts
Go Garmin, can get a quality plotter for under a G that is very user friendly, dependable & comes with great custer service/support. Check out their website for the varying models.

·
Registered
1,586 Posts
Garmin, Garmin.

I have been using their products for many years, never had a problem.
Easy to down load updates and very user friendly. great customer service too.
You can get their top of the line 500 series for under a thou with a sounder.

Catch em up.

·
Registered
275 Posts
Garmin

hattrickll said:
Garmin, Garmin.

I have been using their products for many years, never had a problem.
Easy to down load updates and very user friendly. great customer service too.
You can get their top of the line 500 series for under a thou with a sounder.

Catch em up.
Have to second this. Been on boats with all the top models and used to think that the Ray was tops (forgive me Capt. Steve:rolleyes: ) but went with the Garmin and have never looked back. They make a great unit for the price.

We are a dealer for all the top brands and I looked this over very close.

If you want more info or a great price on any of the top brands feel free to call.

Mike

·
Registered
156 Posts
I'm a huge fan of Garmin GPS units.
Given an 18, guessing space could be an issue.
Might want to consider a value priced discontinued Garmin 492 now a days.
New about $400 with built in detailed charts.
That's what I currently have, very ez to use, display is fine in bright sunlight.

·
Registered
319 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·