BASS BARN banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need some sound advice. My brother in law and his friend who are both experienced boaters want me to take my boat to Masseys Canyon which is about 40 miles from Cape May were my boat is. My boat is a 1983 24ft. Weekender with a single I/O. I don't have radar or an EPIRB. Weather permitting is this safe?

·
Registered
5,585 Posts
It's doable, but definatly not smart. Weather can change on you in an instant out there. A nice smooth ride out can turn to a hair-raising ride back in if the wind switches or T-storms pop up. EPRIBs are worth their weight in gold. Remember, cell phones don't work offshore...

·
Registered
866 Posts
Scott S - I have 21 ft cc based in Cape May. I had been doing a lot of inshore trolling for the last 3 yrs (15-20mi range) and recently started doing more runs further out (Massey's, Hambone, Hot Dog).

I bought my boat new, so I haven't been too worried about engine reliability, but have been reading up and learning more about the motor so I can handle problems as they arise (i.e. blew a fuse and had my GPS conk out just this past Sat night on the way to the Hambone).

I think the absolute minimum is:

- offshore (type 5) life jackets for everyone
- auto deployable, mounted EPIRB (never know what could happen and $800 is nothing when your life could depend on it)
- backup handheld VHF (test both VHFs regularly) with fresh batteries.
- extra oil, fuses, spark plugs, anchor, anchor line, and fresh water
- let someone know where your going and when you expect to get back.