BASS BARN banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
399 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm pretty new to kayaking and would like to get into it pretty heavy this year. i had a small sit-in that i wasn't impresed with , that i was using. now i was checking out the hobie website and came across the mirage pro angler and realll liked the features and averything that was offered with it. have any of you guys or gals ever used or own this particular craft. I'm wanting to use it out on the Delaware river and possibly in the back bays for fishing. would this kayak be a good fit for these waters or should i go with something of a larger scale. ( I just sold my 16 foot deep v so i could persue the kayaking side of fishing this year. ) so help me out here guys. I need some sound advice so i won't regret my purchase. I'll take what i can get since i am pretty much a virgin to kayaking...

·
Registered
9,224 Posts
It would be hard to go with something larger as the Pro Angler is a big yak. I have sold them to guys almost 400 pounds and they float them high and dry. It is my favorite kayak to use personaly and Im around 200 pounds. It can be a ***** to get from the truck to the water and it is to big to load on the roof without help. If you have a pickup truck bed for transport and you can back down close to the water to launch you will think it is the best kayak on the planet. If you need to rooftop transport or its a long haul from the vehicle to the water then consider the Outback.
You can come down to my shop in March or April and try both models out for free.

·
Registered
399 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I guess that i should have added that I am about 6'1" and 250 lbs. I have a 12 foot v hull aluminium that I car top with no problem it goes about 130 lbs. so the weight of the PA shouldn't be much of an issue. So god willing I will be there in March to give them a try.

·
Registered
112 Posts