BASS BARN banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1,117 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was wondering what effects all this snow and below average cold temperatures will have on the spring Striper fishing.
With all the cold fresh water run-off from all this (above normal) snow fall effecting the salinity of the rivers and estuaries, plus the below average water temps remaining colder, longer into the spring, this has to have some effect on what, how, when and where the Stripers spawn, and move out to the back bays to feed.

So what's everyone's predictions on the spring Striper run for 2010.......?

·
Registered
1,984 Posts
tony you know I'm no expert but I keep reading guys saying this type of winter makes for a great spring, guess we just gotta wait and see...either way I know where I'll be march 1st, actually almost all of march, april starts the bouncin around

My prediction, me and ry will catch while you watch:razz:

·
Registered
2,097 Posts
On friday night I was in my buddies garage and needed some ice for a drink. The drink was about half a glass. I filled the rest of the glass up with snow and it immediately melted into the glass and made the liquid rise at an almost unnoticeable amount.

So my opinion is that these two big snow storms are resulting in less freshwater than a rainy winter. Given that snow has different densities depending upon how wet it is.

·
Registered
3,277 Posts
On friday night I was in my buddies garage and needed some ice for a drink. The drink was about half a glass. I filled the rest of the glass up with snow and it immediately melted into the glass and made the liquid rise at an almost unnoticeable amount.

So my opinion is that these two big snow storms are resulting in less freshwater than a rainy winter. Given that snow has different densities depending upon how wet it is.
I understand the your point,I just hope the snow wasn't yellow.:razz:

·
Registered
2,558 Posts
Should help things... should be a good spring..