BASS BARN banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
484 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone. I am new to the art of surf fishing... just got a setup this past summer and have only gone a few times but this spring I would like to hit the beach as much as possible. I have a basic understanding of what to look for in search of bass and blues, (such as flat spots between breakers indicating holes, birds diving, bunker jumping), however when i walk the beach all I seem to see is waves and im really having trouble reading the surf. Im going to school full time so i dont really have a lot of time to put into scopin out a good spot but i dont wanna randomly toss a clam in a pointless spot either. Any advice on what to do or what to avoid would be greatly appreciated!!

· Registered
24,062 Posts
Welcome Beaverhole.:D

Walk the beach at low tide and observe..Check for sandbars, cut outs and holes..Make a note of them and come back at high tide and work those spots...

· Registered
6,122 Posts
Welcome to the Barn Beaver,...A little Recon goes a long way, You will, definitely benefit from a trip at low tide to the area you wanna fish prior to fishing it. as you get familiar with the spot you plan on fishing frequently you will increase your catch ratio.....guarenteed..!...I Alway look at the way the waves roll back into the surf you get an Idea where the Rip currents are by seeing two waves washing back on eachother in the sand,.. I always fish these areas because the current they create...washes bait out and its a natural ambush point for stripers. Good Luck....!

Live 2 Fish
<><
Forced 2 Work

· Registered
14 Posts