BASS BARN banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
211 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey I have been fishing absecon bay and absecon inlet for a few years on other peoples boats, but this is my first year alone. I have a 17" tri hull with a 60hp OB that I put in at absecon ramp. Picked up a new FF/GPS combo and been out a few times this year with no luck, just catchin skates. I am still just learning the waters, and the boat, but I could definitally use and fishing tips, or good spots to goto in my area there.

I know people don't really give out coords, but any help would be appreciated. General areas to try, rig setups, bait, I'll take any info at all to get me some keeper striper/tog/sea bass/bluefish/flounder anything good in the cooler.

Thanks in advance and seeya out there.

1,160 Posts
find lumps in the inlet. I know of a few. Take me fishing and i'll show ya!!

·
Registered
3,576 Posts
Stay in between the cans or markers drifting on either side of the top of the tide and you'll catch. There's tons of backwater to learn, but honestly the fish are right in the main channels in decent keeper #'s right now. Big minnows, no dinks, have been effective. Good luck

·
Registered
7 Posts
It does take a while to learn a new spot. I like to see which way the drift is and then find the section of the creek or channel, as it bends back and forth, that you can drift diagonally across the channel, or lengthwise down the edge. This keeps you over the change in depth area for the longest time.That, hopefully, is where the flounder are waiting for a meal.Keep fishing, and ask those that you see at the dock or shops. Have fun!

·
Registered
2,707 Posts
Drift the ICW. I've had luck using the Gulp Penny Shrimp on a ball jig. I'm using Gulp and my buddies were using stip bait and suprising I was high hook. Now we are use penny shrimp. Good luck to you.

·
Registered
11,868 Posts