BASS BARN banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am fairly new to striper fishing. Out of the 10 or so times I have gone out for stripers almost all of them were trolling in the Chesapeake. I fished the Raritan once last year launching out of Keyport. I didn't feel comfortable in my boat so this year I have a new one. I am looking for reccomendations on where to launch in spring, bait shops, and places to fish. I would like to get out 4-5 times this spring during the week. Any help or suggestions will be greatly appriciated!

·
Registered
233 Posts
leonardo, atlantic highlands, two pretty good places to launch and they have several good bait and tackle shops.good luck and tight lines to ya.

[ 03-25-2006, 06:28 PM: Message edited by: bluestriper ]

·
Registered
239 Posts
Steve,like bluestriper said but also Keyport has 3 ramps.Keyport Marine Basin,Wagners,and the public ramp.Bait shops Crabbys in Keyport on west front st.& Keyport Marine basin.If you can get last Mays NEW JERSEY ANGLER you will be set.Good Luck Harry

·
Registered
1,133 Posts
Seawaren is another ramp in the back and you can travel through alot of spring bunker on the way out. The ramps ok if you get there early and plan to fish the back.

·
Registered
232 Posts
The back of the bay is where the early season bass'en will heat up first. I would launch in sea waren. If you looking for a crew, I'm game

·
Registered
138 Posts
Steve , I am out of At Highlands if you ever need a report the night befor give me a call. Also if you see me on the water flag me down and I will give you a barn sticker for your boat, there are a good amount of Barners fishing those waters!!!!!

·
Banned
12,837 Posts