BASS BARN banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to kayaking this spring. What is the right thing to wear in the spring with colder water? Chest waders with boots?? I am fishing freshwater small lakes and ponds in South Jersey. I'll be fishing from a SOT kayak.

Thanks for any advice.

·
Registered
1,273 Posts
Lots of options each with benefits and downsides.

Drysuit + PFD- awesome...but lots of money.
Wetsuit + PFD- somewhat uncomfortable. Works well when you're in the water but not if you are wet and sitting on the yak.
Waders + PFD- will keep your feet and legs dry but maybe dangerous if you go in and they fill up. (I say maybe because this is some people's experience. I float in my waders/pfd combo but I'm also fat too lol)
Waders + Drytop + PFD- You will stay dry up top too.
Regular clothes + PFD- If they get wet you will be cold and clammy...not fun.

Dress not for the air temp but instead dress as if you were going to go in the water every time and always wear a pfd even if your in <1 ft of water. That's ideal advice but, admittedly, I will go out in jeans and a fleece jacket in the winter in local ponds sometimes. It's not safe but I do it anyway. My go to is stockingfoot waders with neoprene booties in a water resistant jacket and a pfd. If I go in the water in that outfit I will definitely get soaked and I acknowledge that. When wearing the waders/jacket combo and when the water is cold, I will only fish where I can quickly get back to my launch in the event that I go overboard. That means small ponds, lakes, and backbay areas. If you decide to venture into inlets, surf, and out front fishing...a drysuit is a great investment if you can afford it.

Lot of other guys will chime in and their advice and experience will be invaluable so I would take it all in and then decide what is best for you.

PS- If you can yak with a buddy, do it! If you get into trouble you will have some help.

·
Registered
2,383 Posts