BASS BARN banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,235 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Evenin folks,

I'm new to the barn and I've enjoyed reading through about a hundred old posts. But I have a question...

Several times people mention something along the lines of "I know we don't talk about spots, but.."

Is there a rule that you don't tell people where you're fishing, just give general ideas?

Thanks
Bob

·
Registered
19,485 Posts
Ron doesn't want 7000+ barners meeting at 6 am in Delaware Bay.

Safe to stay vague when mentioning any certain area.

·
Registered
385 Posts
Bob,
This is my fisrt fishing forum I've followed. I've never glanced at another one until I recently wanted to hone in on the sweet water. I went to another sight (which I'll keep nameless) to get some general info and found they encouraged posting of exact spots where they caught fish... some of which were my local dunk tanks :(
Now every member of that sight AND every "lurker" has more than a good reason to show up with at least a few buddies and block you out. It's not about being selfish, it's about respect.
When posting, don't think "spots" - think directional signs, counties, ...etc.
The Barn is a very well run operation, as I'm sure you've learned. And when you visit other forums you can appreciate it even more.
I still consider myself a newbie, so from one to another - welcome to the barn

·
Banned
5,940 Posts
Offshore does not matter.
Nearshore does not matter.

But lets say I post that, "Had a great night at U area"

Notice I did not say, "At U in the the mouth of V at W tide using X and considering Y I caught Z.

·
Premium Member
18,100 Posts
Originally posted by ReelyHooked:

Is there a rule that you don't tell people where you're fishing, just give general ideas?

I guess you can call it a "rule" if ya like. Let's say it's an unwritten rule that we encourage our members to follow.