BASS BARN banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello fellow striper junkies

I am new to the whole sport of using lures for stripers. In my experience i have always used bunker bloodworms surf clams etc... I live in chesapeake city md and plan on fishing a lot around the turkey point area and see and hear of a lot of guys using lures for stripers i am currently trying to get another tackle box together to try my hand at this i ned some advice on what to buy to get started out and how to rig it. For soft plastics do i use a carolina rig or a texas rig or what? I am trying to read up on this but figured i would ask the guys who do it all the time. could some of you guys please give me some tips on what to buy to get started .

thanks

·
Registered
1,463 Posts
I can't really help you with soft plastics, other than to say I have caught some stripers on Fin S plastics with jig heads. Lots of guys are starting to swear by Hogy, and Sluggoo's. Tried them too, but if you got blues around, you will get lots of short strikes and chomped off lures.
Lures on the other hand are designed to catch fishermen, long before fish, and I think you will find that if you buy 50, there will be a few that cast right, and catch fish. Myself I use poppers, tsunami, and Gibbs with the right aerodynamic design for distance casting. I am from RI, but I do know the Turkey point area. Are you fishing from a boat, or shore? Also, there is the world of bucktails, and tins like crippled herring, and Hopkin's shortys.