BASS BARN banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
247 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok I'm new to fishing for strippers and I can't wait for the Fall run. I have to stay local and for me thats near the Commadore Barry Bridge and maybe up to UPS on a long day. How should I be fishing for these babies. Top water trolling with live or fake bait? How fast do I troll, I've never trolled before? Should I buy downriggers and fish deeper? Do I float around with chunk bait? Is the area I'm fishing in even worth it or should I just stick to catfish? I'm completely new to this as you can see so any help you can give would be great. I'll buy what I need based on your suggestions. I am going to buy a fish finder for my boat since I heard you have to fish flats for Stripes.

·
Registered
6,184 Posts
Originally posted by boatbuilder_g:
Ok I'm new to fishing for strippers
G:

You gotta chum, heavily. I have found best success comes with rolled-up dollar bills. ;) :D

Seriously though, I havent tried for them in those areas in the fall, and in fact, I dont know that there is a fall run per se. We have had some success with SPRING run stripers, just south of the CBB. We were anchored up, and using blood worms as bait.

Oh and I would recommend you put your post in the freshwater forum, you will probably get more responses from our DE River experts there.

Good luck.

[ 09-21-2005, 04:26 PM: Message edited by: BobEver ]

·
Registered
233 Posts
Originally posted by boatbuilder_g:
Ok I'm new to fishing for strippers

You gotta chum, heavily. I have found best success comes with rolled-up dollar bills.

Always liked that one!

·
Registered
15 Posts