BASS BARN banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello I had a boat my whole life and always fished from that. Due to recent circumstances had to sell the boat. I am new to surf fishing so any advice or tips to point me in the right direction to help get me started would be great.

·
Registered
763 Posts
Decide what you want to fish for-the surf can give you pretty much anything you want-stripers, flounder, weakfish, blues, kingfish, and let me not forget sandsharks, and skates. 10 foot decent rod with a nice spinning reel will get you going. I like braided line-fishing with bait for stripers in the Spring-hi-lo rig with pyramid weight on the bottom. Fresh clam. If you plan on deadsticking, make sure the drag is set properly if you don't plan on holding the rod-lol.
Good luck!
Joe

·
Registered
1,117 Posts
Depends on where you plan to fish, but in general terms I'll offer some oldtimer advice.....

You can catch a variety of fish from most any stretch of sand depending on the time of year, temperature of water, bottom structure, and tide movement.
If you fish the front beaches, look for sand bars and the cuts in those bars, rip currents that pull swimmers out to sea are bad for swimmers, but good for surf fishing because this is where many fish enter the shallows between the bars to chase bait fish.

The inlets are productive spots, but difficult to hold bottom during tidal flow, you can bottom fish there at still tide, but as soon as the tide starts moving again you're better off tossing artificials by casting up stream, and retrieving as the tide pulls your lure down stream.

Jetties are very productive and usually hold fish, but also offer the challenge of getting snagged in the rocks if you don't know what you are doing.