BASS BARN banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
31,677 Posts
NOT EVERYONE NEEDS TO. BAD STATEMENT. MY PARENTS AND WIFE AND DAUGHTER ONLY GO FLOUNDER FISHING.YOU DO NOT NEED IT FOR THAT.ALL STRIPER FISHERMAN DO NEED IT.GO TO THE SITE AND READ IT,JUST DONT ASSUME.PARTY BOAT USERS DONT NEED IT. UNDE 16 DONT NEED IT. HAVING A A LICENSE FROM ONE OF THE STATES LISTED DONT NEED IT.:wave:

The NJ DEP Division of Fish and Wildlife reminds saltwater anglers that the federal government's National Saltwater Angler Registry Program requires most New Jersey saltwater anglers to register prior to fishing in 2010.
You must register if you…
  • Fish for or catch anadromous species (striped bass, shad, river herring) in state tidal waters
  • Fish in Federal waters (more than 3 miles from shore)
You do not have to register if you…
  • Are under 16 years of age
  • Only fish on federally licensed party or charter boats
  • Hold a Highly Migratory Species Angling Permit
  • Have a saltwater license from any of the following states:
    Alabama
    California
    Connecticut
    Delaware
    Florida
    Georgia
    Louisiana
    Mississippi
    New York
    North Carolina
    Oregon
    South Carolina
    Texas
    Washington
Online and telephone registration will begin January 1, 2010. Register online at www.CountMyFish.noaa.gov or call toll free 1-888-MRIP-411 (1-888-674-7411). Registration is free in 2010.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,887 Posts
P4F, I read your statement about your family not needing to register to fish for flounder. SO I read what is available on the web site and ended up calling the registry phone number.
What they told me was, if you are more than 3 miles from the mouth of a river or bay where it meets the ocean you do not need to register. If you are closer than 3 miles you do regardless of what you are fishing for.
This falls under the " Fish in federal waters more than three miles from the ocean shore OR from the mouths of rivers or bays" you do need to register. SO I take it to mean if you fish lower Delaware bay or any inlet for anything, you need to register. This is very confusing.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
31,677 Posts
confusing yes.
did you talk to forbes darby? he is the man in charge of this registry.
the emails i received from him and the phone conversations with him he has stated fising inside 3 miles like back waters and deleware bay there is no need to sign up if you fish for flounder. he also stated you may want to incase of landing a striper while flounder fishing.i had posted his emails in here in the other threads started about this mess.
he also stated due to the fact this so called law was not well publicised,there most likely will be no fine this year as i asked him what about fisherman who do not go onto fishing websites.i know many fisherman who knew nothing about a registry,surf and boat guys.
Forbes Darby
NOAA Fisheries
Tel: 301-713-9501

in your post you state with in 3 miles you must. that is wrong. look at the post above with the basic info. you need to past 3 miles
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,887 Posts
No I didn't talk to Forbes, just the girl that answered the phone. The way I understood it for example, if I went out Cape May inlet and ran north 3+ miles and fished for flounder, I wouldn't need it BUT if I only ran 1 mile north I would need it.
I registered Jan 1, and also registered my entire family.
I don't want/need any BS over this while I'm fishing.
I also buy a boat license for Delaware and Maryland.
Thx for your clarification.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,289 Posts
Who is enforcing this? Marine Police, wait, thats State, CG is Federal. Or is it fish & game? is there any enforcement? You know next year won't be free.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
848 Posts
I would think it would be enforced by the CC or federal CO'c. State and local enforcement do not enforce federal laws unless they are sworn in for a specific purpose. ie: a local officer is attached to a DEA taskforce. I have been boarded several times by the CG for safty equiptment checks and they never asked to see my N J boating certificate. I would be very surprised if there would be fines this year.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
628 Posts
Who is enforcing this? Marine Police, wait, thats State, CG is Federal. Or is it fish & game? is there any enforcement? You know next year won't be free.
I have spoke with a PA CO and he tells me that in pa they "may" ask if you have it and if not they will inform you of it's exsistance and send you on your way, now this would be river fisherman of course
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,668 Posts
We had an customer stop in last week. He talked to the Marine Police and they told him no matter what you fish for you need to be registered. I would recommend that if you fish, just register and save the hassle no matter if you need it or not. It's only a matter of time.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9,928 Posts
So to review, if I want to take my surf gear for a walk, be it the beach at Fortescue or Graveling Point [the two places that I hit the most with it right now], I need to 'register' and have that card?
 
1 - 15 of 15 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top