BASS BARN banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
481 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been using an A-Series Scott flyrod for two years now (my first flyrod). This is a lower end $$ rod and I has a moderate to fast action. (9wt. rod & line). With the intermediate line that I use I get the sense that it is not loading the rod very well. I really feel the load when I switch to my 350 grain sink tip line. So my question is would it make sense to switch to a 10wt. intermediate line to better help load the rod? Does action of the rod factor in?

·
Registered
5,585 Posts
It may be that the rod speed is too fast for your casting style with the 9wt line. Do you feel the road load at all when there is about 30ft of line out the tip?

A 350 grain line, I think, is rated for 10wt. So yes, you might want to go up a size or two on your intermediate line for the extra loading weight.

I cast a 500-gr sinking line on my 9wt, but it "supposed" to be for an 11 or 12wt. I like how the rod sling-shots the line out because it loads so well.

[ 12-08-2005, 01:54 PM: Message edited by: Fly Ty R ]

·
Registered
789 Posts
LS,

I routinely fish a 10 wt. line on my 9 wt. GLoomis. Most of my early fly rodding was done with an Orvis Superfine, which had a relatively soft or slow action. Like you, I cast better if I can really feel the rod load.

·
Registered
16,554 Posts
A lot of it has to do with casting style. Super fast rods of any weight do not suit me well. The only way I can do well with fast actions is to double haul with lots of line out. I am much more comfortable with slower tapers. The recent rage of super fast rods prolly hurts more casters than it helps.

[ 12-08-2005, 05:50 PM: Message edited by: Younger ]

·
Registered
5,585 Posts
Yup! :D

·
Premium Member
5,198 Posts