BASS BARN banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
225 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I am a commercial captain looking for some electronics advice.

I have been using North Star equipment for the last 20 years, and now it appears I have to switch. (North Star was sold to Simrad and there is no support for old units like the 951 or 958).

I recently purchased a Garmin 4212 because it has a keypad for inputting data and seemed to be widely used on the sport fish boats in Cape May. I have used the unit for a year and I am disappointed, as are other captains who use the same boat and who were used to the North Star's ease of use.

The single most important function that is missing from this unit is the ability to input a quick way point with ease/ and navigate to that way point, all in one step. On the North Star 958- hit way points, quick way point, enter the coordinates, hit enter twice and the way point is automatically saved as quick way point, and the plotter is steering you to it. This is vitally important when you get a hot report on a lumpy day. There is enough going on as a captain- the last thing you need is to be fumbling around with the plotter for too long.

The only way we have figured to do this same thing on the Garmin is to enter a quick way point, which is then saved on the chart, you then can either scroll through all your way points and select navigate to that way point, or go find it on the chart and select navigate to. This extra step is a major pain- not to mention that after we create the "quick way point" it gets saved until we go back and delete em. I might need it the next day- I sure don't need it next year.

Also- The Garmin freezes- on rough days and sometimes on not so rough days it would just freeze and not respond- just like an old computer. The only way to get it back was to turn it off and then back on. In 20 years of Northstar GPS and another 20 of North Star Lorans before that, I never once had one freeze screen.