BASS BARN banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Premium Member
5,198 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay we did get a few guys out last week. This week the water temp should be better. I expect to launch Friday around high tide, during daylight, a change for me. Hope some of you get out & looking for the first on a fly. Ron

·
Registered
17 Posts
Can you point a newby in the right direction. I am new to fishing in this area but not new to fly fishing. I don't want anyone's secret spot but just a point in the right direction. I fish mostly in Cape Cod but started to get out around LBI last year. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Maybe even trade some flies for info!!!

·
Registered
21,273 Posts
oneidog - the bayside of IBSP - areas 15 down to the inlet are very conducive for wading fly guys.

Basically walk out to about 25 feet from dropoffs and work the edges.

LBI - I like fishing off the jetties - work the side(s) with the deep holes or any cuts between bars.

·
Premium Member
5,198 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Mike Like to welcome you to the board, but using a home site is not allowed, unless all are a registered advirtizer--sorry, but I hope you enjoy your stay on the board. Ron

·
Registered
7,854 Posts
Good Friday was Good. Had a great day but smell of skunk. Dave (Fly Ty er) and I decided we were going to get some bass. Trailered the boat to Long Reach Marina on the Maurice River. Water temp was 46 so we decided to head up river and try some little creeks that we knew herring go up. Worked a creek all the way up till we could go no further. Saw some bass surface and a few herring, but our flies got no attention. The water temp got up to 50.

With the tide comming in we decided to make a big run. We went all the way up to Millville. We figured the herring would be up there strong and so would the bass. Saw a few herring caught around the bridge downtown but nothing to write home about.