BASS BARN banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,559 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm thinking about hitting a S. Jersey river this weekend for some recon and perch fishing. Thinking the Tuckahoe is my likely choice but can be flexible. Anybody interested? And before you ask, yes I do have a dry suit! :)

If it's windy I won't go. I'm seeing expected temps in the low 50's, so this is a trip just to break the winter blues - and maybe if lucky catch a few fish. Also, I am no expert on the Tuckahoe so if you are looking for that I'm not the guy - just full disclosure here! :rolleyes:

·
Registered
2,929 Posts
My only concern

With fishing a river right now is the currents are probably RIPPING because of the snow melt/runoff. I would like to fish the tuckahoe myself but do not know any spots. I may fish audrey or SVP this weekend.

·
Registered
1,559 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
With fishing a river right now is the currents are probably RIPPING because of the snow melt/runoff. I would like to fish the tuckahoe myself but do not know any spots. I may fish audrey or SVP this weekend.
That's an interesting comment/point. I'm not so sure that melting snow will really effect current. I would think water levels yes, but not sure about current. Be interested in others opinion here. This is a bit uncharted (for me anyway) as we haven't seen such levels of snow. One good thing about this weekend is it's a mid moon phase, so that is a positive regarding current flow.

I'm just iching to get out. Believe me if currents are ripping too bad I won't be venturing too far from launch point. I will also have a handle on tide phase, to determine which way to head so I'm not fighting current on departure and return if at all possible.

·
Registered
2,929 Posts