BASS BARN banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
772 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm still new at all this, and I have a really basic question. When casting heavier flies such as clousers and decievers, should I be slowing my casting motion down to prevent tangling? Last time I was down I couldn't get the deciever out at all, but had no problems slinging a popper 50-60 feet. Seemed like the deceiver wasn't following the cast as easily. It's much bulkier than the popper so I'm wondering if I might be starting the forward cast too soon? Any thoughts would be appreciated. I'm going back down to the shore for only the third time this summer and don't want to waste valuable fishing time unwinding knots! Thanks for any help.

·
Registered
2,098 Posts
Reckoning, remind yourself of the most basic rule that you can't cast a line that isn't straight and it is not against the law to look at your line in the air. If you watch your line you will not be able to move the rod too fast, because you have to wait for the line to straighten out. Start with some smaller patterns and work your way up. Bill

·
Premium Member
5,198 Posts
Reconing That must be a whaling deceiver if it is harder to cast than a popper. My guess would be you are starting the forward cast too soon. Watch the line & possibly get to the club meeting. I understand that there is casting before the regular meeting. Get with some people who know how to get the line out of the guides. Good luck & don't despair. Ron

·
Registered
772 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks to both of you. I suspect the forward cast timing is the issue. Unfortunately I can usually only get flyfishing at night, so I can't actually see the cast when I'm doing it. I guess I need to bring the rod home with me and cast in the yard. (the neighbors already think I'm nuts so what the heck?) I'm going to be joining the club soon and will have to arrange it so I can get down for a meeting before the fall striper run!

·
Registered
7,961 Posts