·
Registered
16,572 Posts
Looks like an immature loon?

·
Registered
2,726 Posts
Could be a commerant (sp?)

I spent a week up in northwestern ontario on Eagle Lake. Loons are really cool birds. They'll be floating around on the surface, they'll dive & then come up like 100 yards from where you last saw them. They have that great unmistakable call too.

·
Registered
16,572 Posts
Not a cormorant, possibly a species of Grebe though. Loons are awesome to hear MCH. Used to spend some time on Ashby Lake in Ontario. Sitting on the porch sipping martinis listening to the loons....ahhh..

·
Registered
2,726 Posts
I'm not a bird expert so I wasn't sure. I did see a really cool show on discovery (maybe?) about this dude in Thiland or Burma that would hand raise comorants (I think that's what they were) & train them to fish for him. He would be out in a little canoe with all these birds that would dive for him & come up with fish. Apperently it's an extremley old school method of fishing that's been going on for generations. Cool stuff.

·
Registered
1,845 Posts
I'm not a bird expert so I wasn't sure. I did see a really cool show on discovery (maybe?) about this dude in Thiland or Burma that would hand raise comorants (I think that's what they were) & train them to fish for him. He would be out in a little canoe with all these birds that would dive for him & come up with fish. Apperently it's an extremley old school method of fishing that's been going on for generations. Cool stuff.
Think we could apply this method to Striper fishing? Save a lot of money on gear... :D

·
Registered
98 Posts
Dont know what they are called, but I see them swimming around diving for bait. They can swim underwater for near 100ft and stay under for a good 40 seconds. I never saw one fly, probably wasn't hurt.

·
Registered
3,072 Posts
DESCRIPTION

summer coat:
black and white "checkered" back and wings, black head, white belly and white under wings, white "necklace" (band) around the throat