BASS BARN banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
615 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Saw several posts recently about slow trolling for fluke. I know this is used down south. Interested in anyone's comments regarding this principle as I have not had much success with it. How fast do you troll and what type of rig is used? With or against the tide? Best at low or hi tide? Thanks for any tips and advice.

·
Registered
6,293 Posts
Mobyduck - I am by no means an expert in trolling for fluke - but heres some basic advice that will work: troll in the direction of the tide/current, troll as fast as you think the tide/current is moving, use the same rigs as you would if you were drifting & troll whenever you cannot get a good drift, regardless of the tide - it should work if the flounder are in the area.

Just my 2 cents - let us know how you make out.

·
Registered
16,324 Posts
.8 to 2 knots, anglers let the capt know the speed thats allowing them to keep good contact w/ the bottom. I've had succes trolling all ways, most important thing is to troll thru productive areas, but trolling w/ the tide is usually most productive. Most rigs will work, I like them long, 5-6 feet and a 1-2 foot dropper loop for the sinker.

·
Registered
154 Posts
we normally troll in the ocean when there is no wind--we use 5o power pro, long leaders--we tie a sea anchor to our stern cleet ant run at about 1-1.5 knots--10-12 oz weights--sometimes we bail them while people sit around with no drift catching junk fish--so far this year ocean fluking has been sh*#--

·
Registered
121 Posts
i've done well with deep diveing plugs and rattle traps in less then 15' of water.last year caught them to 5# this way.started after hooking fluke when trolling bass with stretch 25 plugs. the diver needs to be digging into the sand.so you need to know the bottem is clean just sand no rocks.hope this helps frank.

·
Registered
1,665 Posts