BASS BARN banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I plan to fish for striper this fall in the CM area. I am new to this type of fishing and have been a lurker of the striper posts. I have a 21 ft. cc boat in bree-zee-lee marina. I have been trying to learning the area and have been fishing for fluke, croakers, blues, ect. thru out the summer. I really would like to start targeting the stripers this fall. I have shimano 4500 bait runners and shimano TLD25. I asume these reels should be fine. I am looking for suggestions for line strength, lures, and live bait and chunk rigs.

Thanks
ddubbs
Dave (bree-zee-lee)

·
Registered
21,273 Posts
Hey Dave - The bait runners are awesome. Great reel for chunking or live bait. What rods are you gonna put them on?

For chunking bunker/clam -
30 braid or 17 lb Momoi mono
fishfinder rig and enough lead to hold
Spro swivel
fluro leader (30 for mono - 50lb for braid)
10/0 Gamakatsu Octopus hook - chunks use 6/0 but see below

Bunkerhead - chunks are for chummin j/k - some days they only hit the chunks - but Heads are my personal preference ;)

if you are gonna troll get some stretch 25's or tube -n- worm - bunker spoon really require specialized rods & extra reels - total different ballgame - .....

shad rigs work well but bluefish eat the **** out of them - I just dont like em but they do work and can work very well. Be prepared to replacing lots of shad bodies if you troll them blues are around.

·
Registered
1,596 Posts
This is a perfect example of why I believe people should hire a charter captain. They will teach you how to do it and where to go. for a cheaper way, research the board advertisers that provide open boat trips.

in my opinion, you will see the equipment firsthand, while learning the area. any charter captain worth their salt will have no issues teaching someone like yourself knowing that you are going to go it on your own after the trip. that is what we get paid to do.

good luck

·