BASS BARN banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
1,465 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Gonna give the inshore thresher trolling a go this summer. Need some input on what type of lures to try. Seen some skirt type lures with planners on them, but not sure if this is what i should be using.

·
Registered
15,506 Posts
I'm no expert by any means, but wouldn't trolling for threshers result in a lot of tail hooked fish? Don't threshers slash the bait with their tail first to stun it, then circle back to grab the stunned bait?

·
Registered
690 Posts
They were think off IBSP at the end of striper season this year. Caught one that was tail wrapped on a spoon and had 2 other spoons crunched up like tin foil. Also had one on for a bit on a diving plug.

·
Registered
5,413 Posts
I'm no expert by any means, but wouldn't trolling for threshers result in a lot of tail hooked fish? Don't threshers slash the bait with their tail first to stun it, then circle back to grab the stunned bait?
Yes, this is correct. The west coast guys have a problem with this. They ditch the trebles and in lieu of single hooks on their plugs. They do it for strength reasons as well as limiting tail hooks.

·
Registered
1,463 Posts
I hooked one up once and that was on a livelined bunker...I cant imagine tail hooking one of those things

·
Registered
1,482 Posts
Only tried it a few times with Shark plugs baited with mackeral(ones with planer heads and pin for bait rig skirted). Never had a touch on a rig designed to catch sharks while trolling by a thresher. Seems like they will bite anything except the skark rig when trolling. If I ever do it again I would just rig up some large swimming mullets with 4 oz chin weights and hope I dont get torn up by bluefish trolling real slow.

Thats my 2 cents on thresher trolling in NJ.

·
Registered
15,506 Posts