BASS BARN banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to tile fishing looking on getting a setup for fishing tile and possibly tuna. Was looking at a few different reels the tld20 2 speed, penn squall 16vs, and the penn international vsx 16. I have a rod that might work its a boat rod 6'6" mh 20-50 line class 2-6 oz. lure weight think that might pair up with them reels? I am open to any and all suggestions I am looking to buy the right combo one time it will be used for charter boat trips. What line is suggested 50-65 braid? Any insight or suggestions would be great thanks in advance

·
Registered
1,728 Posts
If your tile fishing your going to need to use a lot of lead to get down to the bottom and stay as vertical as possible. On average, we use 2lbs of lead so a 2-6oz. rated rod is not going to cut it. We use our heavy jigging rods with 2-speed reels as well as some electric reel combos that make deep dropping a breeze. Keep in mind your in 300-600ft of water and you have to be on the bottom to catch. If you go lighter on the lead you'll have to keep letting out line to stay on the bottom and then have to reel it all back in hopefully with a double header. You basically need a meat stick with a high speed reel with 65lb. braid. We use our jigging gear so we don't have to bring more equipment but it's only rated to 500grams or about 18oz. They work but it's maxing out the rods. The electric set ups are straight up meat sticks.

·
Registered
21,273 Posts
agreed that rod is too light. for 80 bucks you can get a 6'6 ugly stick 40-80lb 6-12 oz that will handle 3 or 4. lbs of lead. I fish the 8 ft version of that rod on party boats.