BASS BARN banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3,442 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'd like to get another tog trip in, but are these fish moving further off or will they get tight lipped as water temperature dips? I noticed that the water is getting colder over last couple of days.

·
Registered
1,798 Posts
Its been mid to upper 40s and has nt changed much. All our trips have been 60-70 ft. No signs of them leaving(allthough I'm not a believer they move at all_ I think they just become less active. I don't see a tog leaving a wreck to try and find another miles away. I'm no expert by any meams just my guess

·
Registered
28,819 Posts
i think they stop moving around so much too when the water temp drops.. dont think they leave the wrecks either.. well some smaller ones do and i think they move in the back to mate thats why the rocks get infested with them in the inlets. but how many 15-20lb tog have you seen in the back bays and at the rocks? i never seen one so i can't say there are.. and i also believe that you wont catch a tog in 200ft of water and they dont go that far out.. there a near shore fish that wont go past 30 miles out.. the water temps dont change that much out that far during the yr.. we see surface temps and nothing more then that.. unless we dive and know how cold it is out there alllllll yr long

·
Registered
1,798 Posts
now Paul can we get you out this weekend??? I believe it will be the Porgy finale as he needs to pull the boat for inspection/maintenance. I know a few going s/b fun

·
Registered
2,427 Posts
We found them somewhat sluggish on GSN this past Sunday. We caught some ut it was a slow bite. This is in 80+ feet of water. I then went 15 miles east and was still in about the same water depth. The water was 2 degrees warmer here. At this spot the tog were much mroe active.

Peter

·
Registered
1,765 Posts
It has been getting very picky/scratchy over the past few weeks. I've hung it up for the winter.