BASS BARN banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Gentlemen,
I have yet to post on this site because usually I can find the answer to my questions thru the search feature and I am a bit of a novice so I have limited thoughts to offer.
I would like your opinions as to the steering control of a trolling motor. I recently purchased a 17’ center console that I plan to install a trolling motor on. The boat has a nice platform in the front and I plan to do a bit of fly casting from there. I have researched the 2 major brands thru the net and it appears the “toughest” models from either company are hand control only. I have no problem with that, I prefer low tech but am afraid the hand control would be a bother with the fly line. I see the options available on some of the other models – co-pilot, I-pilot and wired/wireless. I think I would be more comfortable with a foot control with a cable than a wireless model but my first choice would be the “toughest” model available. So, do any of you guys use a hand control trolling motor while fly-fishing and is it a great hindrance?
Thank You
Gee

·
Registered
1,352 Posts
Gentlemen,
I have yet to post on this site because usually I can find the answer to my questions thru the search feature and I am a bit of a novice so I have limited thoughts to offer.