BASS BARN banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6,419 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am hoping Santa brings me a nice new pair of wader boots for Christmas, but I am not sure which pair to ask for. I just saw a new pair by Korkers called "Wetlands" - $79 - that have removable soles so they can be converted from lug to flet to boat sole to studded felt and to studded rubber-which are an xtra $30 (no more straping on korkers for the rock piles). Which soles do most of you guys use in different conditions? Does felt have a use in saltwater? I may also ask for Orvis Clearwater Endura Breathable stockingfoot waders -$129. Any thoughts?

·
Registered
789 Posts
Rhino,

I've been using Orvis fishing products for more than 20 years. IMHO they sell quality gear and stand behind their products. I think the breathable waders will serve you well. I wear felt soles with carbide studs if their are jetties around. For wading in the back, I just wear felt sole shoes.

·
Registered
20,269 Posts
I am all infavor from buying almost everything from local guys... but I have to vote for Cabela's breathable bootfoot waders... if you have a problem with leaks, straps... anything... they replace them with almost no questions asked... and strapping Korkers is not really THAT big a deal... is it?

·
Registered
1,008 Posts
i've got a pair of boots from a company called chota. they have the quick-tie laces, all leather with webbing areas for drainage, and have a felt sole. the cool part is that they come with hardened steel screws that screw into the felt sole, and act just like korkers. you have to change them every so often, depending on how much you walk on jetties and/or streets with them, but it's very easy to do. i hit jetties quite a bit, and i've had no problems. also, you'll never get the feeling of them slipping off your foot, which is what you can get with korkers if they are tied tightly enough.