BASS BARN banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My nephew started West Point this fall and loves fishing. As a freshman, he is not often allowed to leave campus on the weekend, but he can travel within a reasonable distance of campus. I think the restrictions get to be less as he is there longer.

I'd like to get him out on the Hudson for some stripers in the early spring if possible. I have a 16' freshwater boat with a 75hp, so I can't handle too big water. I have no experience on the Hudson.

Anyone who'd like to help a young WP student and his older (much) uncle with some tips on the area would be greatly appreciated. We've been striper fishing in a number of other areas and have all the plugs and gear.
Decent ramps and general areas would be great.

If you don't want to share with the world, please PM.

Thanks!

·
Registered
187 Posts
me to

Live up here w/ mike (CT) too . Fish the spring run up the river while putting True Grit though her paces before the move down to launching out AHMM for the season, Fish the river about 4 x a week from the North Dock of the point up North past Whites Marina in Marlboro with great success. Pm me too. Also do some sub contract work at Point during Football. Fyi the water at the north dock of WP is the deepest water of the entire river. PS Mike if you ike your welcome to hop on anytime I launch out of the Hood

·
Registered
82 Posts
hooks40,

This might help increase your learning curve, if your are going to fish the river your self or hirer a guide. A 16 alum boat should have no problem handling the Hudson River north of West Point.

You need to have a few more posts before you can PM folks. If you want to post your email on this site it should be secure.

Certified Marine in Connelly, NY is on the Roundout River off 9W .
Sharon Jones is one off the Owners and the phone number is 845 339 3060. The address is 166 First St, Connelly, NY