BASS BARN banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I fished last week on the Del. river and caught squat. I am very new to striper fishing! I need to know whwn to make time for the non stop striper action. Anyone help me with size hooks,rod lenght, mono pound test?:confused:

·
Registered
4,011 Posts
another week to 2 and it will be on, right around the full moon on the 20th is when we are making our first trip. There are fish being caught up and down the river, but no consistency, nor quantity yet.

We use inshore casting/spinning gear, in the 10-20lb range. We use fishfinder rigs with 5, 7, 8 &9/0 circle hooks. I use about 48" of fluro leader, and a 100lb swivel. I have braided line on my outfits, all between 20-50lb test braid, my father in law likes to use mono on the river, he uses 15-17lb test trilene. I like the braid to be able to quicken the fight since all fish are being released, but thats just what I use on all my setups. When we are up near Trenton getting herring I will usually setup one or 2 lighter outfits and send out a livie with 1/2 the tail cut off while we are jigging up our herring. We mainly use herring chunks when fishing downriver, occasionally send out a live if we have the well with us. Good luck, and see ya out there.

Mike

·
Registered
1,832 Posts
Bass

Its been real good in certain spots otherwise its been spotty up and down the beach from DOD to Gloucester.Just like Boosted said in a week or 2 the Bass will spread out more evenly and become accessable to more guys.Beach gear should include a 7-8ft spinning Rod with a Mid weight spinning reel loaded with 300yds of 15-20lb Mono.I prefer Power Pro so I can load it up.Some Standard Fish Finder rigs with some 30lb Leadered In-Line circles and an assortment of 1-5 oz Bank Sinkers.Bloods,Herring,Gulps,Fishbites,Clams,MudShad they all work well when the fish turn on.Good Luck if you need more specific spots e-mail me I'll hook ya up,HRL:D

·
Registered