BASS BARN banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
6,369 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been slipping my Grady for over 10 yrs.. I am going to give trailering a shot with the new 17ft Scout. I need to know where I can launch and retrieve my boat at any tide. The ramp at the bottom of the bridge in Sea Isle is short and I believe lower tides will be difficult. There will be times when I will be alone and need ramps that are easy enough to handle launching and loading solo. Anyone know anything about Larsons ramp beside it being very steep?

·
Registered
7,570 Posts
The only ramp that I know that is protected, little current and no real drop-off (at least years ago and I see people use it at low tide) is Avalon Muni at 54th street.

·
Registered
6,369 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for the replys. Like I said it's been yrs since I tried this trailering deal except for my 14fter which I normally launched at the crabbing bulkhead going into SI or over on Dennis creek at Jakes landing. My new 17ft Scout weighs in at around 1500lbs and I won't be able to use any soft ramps. If this trailering thing becomes too much hassle I'll have to go back to the slip. I just thought since selling the Grady it might be nice to keep the Scout on a trailer so I could take it over to the Del., bay for crabbing and else where.

·
Registered
7,570 Posts
The whale creek marina ramp might be a good choice but the other one in Strathmere is not even remotely nice at low tide from what I see towing boats there...a good chance of dinging a prop on a rock and there is really NO place to tie a boat off ...

The Ramp over at Corsons Inlet Park is OK I guess...especially with the new dock. Don't know about low tide drop off though.

They all work at high tide...most are bad at low...depending on your trailer setup. Some boat trailer combos are such that if you can get the lower rollers near the water...some boats winch up without hardly getting the tires wet...

·
Registered