BASS BARN banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
6,354 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I took the coast guard reserve course 12 yrs ago in PA. I was pulled over for a safty check last week and the coasties told me that NJ may not accept PA's safe boater course. Does anyone have any info on this.

·
Registered
13,683 Posts
I have the PA Boater Safety Cert Card, I spoke with the NJ State Police and the officer there said as long as I had a cert it would be ok, now with that said, so far I have not been pulled over to test this.

·
Registered
7,570 Posts
The way I understand it is if the boat is registered in NJ...then you need a NJ certificate or equivalent (meaning proctored course/test)...

If the boat is from out of state than almost any certificate/proof will do....

That's straight from the top at Trenton...not some local guy passing info from some local guy.....I've been teaching the course for 6 years now and work for the largest private boating school in NJ.....

·
Registered
408 Posts
I got my cert threw the internet, I have it laminated and everything, it says certificate for boaters safety. I hope it works because I don't want to take the test again.:mad:

·
Registered
1,271 Posts
n.j. cert.

you need to take a 8 hr. course and/ or a test given by a n.j. approved instructor. an on line test or course is not n.j. approved and will not be recognized by the marine police in n.j. capt. chuck

·
Registered
5,784 Posts
I think I know the answer to this. If you are a NJ resident then you need a NJ safety Course. If you are from out of state you need to have a safety course from the state you reside in. Unless you fish more than 90 days in NJ waters. Then you have to have a NJ cousre. The state the boat is registered in shouldn't matter because if someone from PA is running my NJ registered boat, they would be okay with the PA safety card.

·
Registered
6,720 Posts