BASS BARN banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
328 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I spray my reels off with fresh water then after they dry i spray WD-40 on them and i Just wanted to know if WD-40 will hurt any Braided line like my Power Pro?????:confused:

·
Registered
4,017 Posts
I hope not, I've been spraying my reels with PP for around 6 years. I think you'll be ok.

·
Registered
6,419 Posts
Eugene - you may want to stop spraying your reels with freshwater and just use WD40. The reason being, I sprayed down my reels with water after every trip and in less than 1 year my Shimano spools began to corrode. From what information I could find, it seems that as the braid line dries on the outside it seals the moisture in and does not allow line underneath to dry, which is really really bad for metal. After Shimano replaced 4 spools over the winter, I used CorrosionX to treat all the spools and reels before spooling up with PowerPro. I will use WD40 to wipe down the spools and reels after each use this year.

·
Registered
4,828 Posts
Only think I would add....Wd is great stuff, But after your spray you really have to wipe off the excess or it will attract dirt, sand etc etc and could add to corrosion problems...I see it at work all the time...

·
Registered
6,419 Posts
freaky One said:
Only think I would add....Wd is great stuff, But after your spray you really have to wipe off the excess or it will attract dirt, sand etc etc and could add to corrosion problems...I see it at work all the time...
That is exactly why I spray it on a paper towel and wipe down the reels. I will hit a couple spots (roller and bail pivots) directly with the small straw attached to get in down in there.

·
Registered
3,158 Posts