BASS BARN banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
920 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Will anyone be fishing for these guys soon after March 1st??? Was looking at my log book, and saw that I caught a few two years ago on March 11 using mussel as bait (fished on central NJ from a small aluminum boat)....I plan to fish for winter flounder at least a few times this year, before the striped ones get real active......Mike

·
Banned
9,261 Posts
Mike, Thanks For The Reminder.. Everyone Gets
Caught Up With the Opening Of Striped Bass
Season on 3/1,alot of times they forget
Winter Flattie Season also opens up and is a very
productive fishery in the spring...
I watched many fishermen come back to dock and
even off the sodbanks in Barnegat Bay last
Spring with some impressive catches...

Here is a Winter Flounder Tip Sheet Supplied
by FishermansHeadquarters - Check It Out :
Winter Flounder

[ 02-25-2005, 02:18 PM: Message edited by: NIGHTSTRIKES ]

·
Registered
31 Posts
Hey Guys,

I'm new to the flounder game too...
I'm not looking for any spots, but just wondering
if there is any decent action for these fish along the S. Jersey coast? Most of the stuff I've read says that populations are along the northern beaches. Also, would I have a decent shot at them by fishing some of the back bays from shore since I am w/o a boat?

Thanks

·
Registered
173 Posts