BASS BARN banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
374 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I appreciated all the posting on the 115 question I had, and What I learned from what you all said is I'd better go heavier with the HP.

What do you guys think about the yammy 150 HPDI???

I still dont know about the 4-strokes, but then again I'm no mechanic, so I really have no clue what I'm talking about lol when it comes to motors, maybe you guys do, so what do you think???:huh:

·
Vendor
296 Posts
Do your homework on the hpdi's and read the problems they had with power heads. i am a yamaha fan all the way. Yamaha has left all of the customers with power head problems out to dry. (After warranty is up). If buying used i would go with any yamaha ox66 over an hpdi. Just my two cents.

·
Registered
4,715 Posts
All the info I found regarding the HPDIs was that the smaller blocks (150 and 200s) were great engines. You do have to stay on top of the fuel filters but that is the only real complaint on found on them. I personally just bought two used yamaha hpdi 150s for my 25ft mako which only have 180 hours on them. Talked with numerous owners who have over 2000 hours on theirs

·
Registered
374 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Do your homework on the hpdi's and read the problems they had with power heads. i am a yamaha fan all the way. Yamaha has left all of the customers with power head problems out to dry. (After warranty is up). If buying used i would go with any yamaha ox66 over an hpdi. Just my two cents.

Nice well I am buying new for warrenty, as I can afford the montly payment but not the repair bills! lol-I did read a lot about them, and heard about the problem your talking about, and the concerns I have I hope to clear up here-so This part of my homework lol thanks for your two sense!:thumbsup:

·
Registered
374 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·