BASS BARN banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
792 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What was your first boat? When did you get it? Do you still own it? Any good memories?

I got my first boat as a gift from my Dad. I still remember I walked over to the bay with my mom in June 2000 when I graduated 8th grade and my Dad drove the boat up. I ran right out in the water and jumped in. It was a 1977 13' Boston Whaler with a 1983 35 horse Evirude. That boat was everything to me. My Dad got the boat out of the newspaper and it needed a ton of work. When the engine was lifted it wouldn't lock into place so I would have to wedge a 2 x 4 in there to keep it out of the water. I took all the wood out of the boat and sanded it religiously and then stained it all. I painted the bottom and rewired the lights. The boat didn't have a working bilge pump at first or a cover. I remember one night in late July when it rained all night. I set my alarm to go off every 2 hours that night and then I would ride my bike over to the boat to scoop it out with a detergent bottle. Since I couldn't drive that boat was my car too. Sometimes I would get up early for school and drive over to OC, park it behind some house, and walk to the high school. I also used to drive up the Tuckahoe to friends houses. I loved that boat so much, but as I got bigger I started to outgrow it so we sold it two years ago and got a 15 footer. I'll never forget that first boat though.

·
Registered
1,008 Posts
cool story. it reminds me of the kids in the show flipper. they had a small whaler if i remember correctly.